Just Nick Studio | A hearts a Flutter

Hi

On the Just Nick Studio blog the design team have been showcasing different background files this week and I had been waiting for a good excuse to use the A hearts a Flutter  background file since it was released.

Here is my layout

happy

I had lots of fun creating this layout.  I cut the file out on white cardstock and added patterned paper to the negative spaces in the smaller hearts.  Filling in the negative space of cut files is an effective way to add pops of colour to your layouts which is what I do quite regularly.  This time I decided to take this one step further and add strips of washi tape stickers to two of the largest hearts in the cut file.  It is really easy to do, when you cut out your cut file, keep the negative heart shape.  I then added the washi tape directly to the shape and inserted it back into the cut file on my page.  I don’t know about you but I have rolls and rolls of washi that I need to use up so I think I will definitely use this technique again!

Some close ups:

happy-detail-1happy-detail-2happy-detail

Products used: January 2017 Hip Kit Club, HKC exclusive Frolic washi tape stickers, Amy Tangerine Heart Enamel Dots, Pink Paislee Moonlight Ephemera, Pink Paislee Moonlight Puffy Stickers, HKC Exclusive – Wood Veneer Phrases & Shapes, American Crafts – 1 Canoe 2 – Hazelwood – Butterfly Rub-Ons

Thanks for stopping by my blog today and I hope I have inspired you to dig into your Washi Tape and add it to the negative space in your cut files.

Mxx

One thought on “Just Nick Studio | A hearts a Flutter

I love getting your comments..

