This is awesome

Hi again,

I wanted to share this layout I created yesterday using a 6×4 inch paper pad from Heidi Swapp that I purchased from Spotlight.  I just love this photo of Liam and Aimee hanging out in the playground outside the Birkenhead library.  I love the composition of the photo and how the colours pop.  Also love that Taylor is in the background too.  The colours in the photo work so well with the Heidi Swapp Hello Today paper pad and there is so many papers in this pad that I still have loads left!  I don’t generally use lots of patterned papers on my layouts and this one has a few layers but lots of white space too.  I quite like the economics of purchasing smaller sized paper pads as I find I can still get the look I am after without having to purchase 12×12 sheets.  I have also used some of the Empherema embellishment pack to embellish my layout too.  2014 06 08_4155_edited-1

As I went along I took some photos of how I created my mixed media background so I thought I would add a little tutorial here as well.  Firstly, I sprayed a decent amount of water onto some white cardstock (which is hard to see here).  I wanted to soften the Navy mist and also I wanted the colours to ‘run’ down my page. 1970 02 03_4192-1_edited-1

I misted with Navy and Powder Blue Studio Calico Mist.  Then I added MORE water on top of the mist.  The navy is quite intense so it needed to be toned down a bit. 1913 03 16_4193_edited-1

Once I added the water it was now time to lift up the cardstock and allow the colours to ‘run’ – this can get a bit messy.1975 11 28_4194_edited-1

This is how it looks when dry. 1970 02 03_4195-1_edited-1

The next layer is texture paste over the top of the blue mist.  I wanted to use my new Studio Calico Mask (also purchased cheap at Spotlight).1971 01 05_4196_edited-1

Then I replicated the mask twice more across the page.  I didn’t worry too much about making it too neat as I knew most of it would be covered. 1975 11 28_4197_edited-1

I had chosen a couple of pieces of my 6×4 inch paper pad to mat and layer under my photo but then I came across this piece and automatically thought Triangles!
1975 11 28_4200_edited-1

I added these triangles that I hand cut to the opposite corners of my cardstock. I love how the pink tied in with the pink leggings that Aimee is wearing.1913 03 16_4201_edited-1Now I really like the tag labels from Cotton On – for a boyish look.  The front has the Cotton On logo but the back is plain. So I added this to my layout. 

1970 02 03_4202_edited-1
Reverse side of the tag with the original twine, and a label from the Empherema pack, adored and love is from a SNAP alpha, cork arrow is Studio Calico.
2014 06 08_4168_edited-1I then mirrored the embellishing at the bottom of the page, added some detail with my sewing machine.
2014 06 08_4164_edited-1
Added my title using my Jillybean Soup Chipboard Alpha and then the Heidi Swapp Glittered word to the top of it. I wanted to add a bit more pink to balance the layout more. 
2014 06 08_4166_edited-1Lastly – added more detail with the star and mini alphas:2014 06 08_4165_edited-1

I just LOVE this colour combo. Navy Blue and Hot Pink.  This layout came together super easy… about 45 mins from start to finish.  I love it when layouts come together like this… for me it was being inspired by my photo first and then the colours in the Paper Pack worked so well with the photo too.

I hope you have enjoyed seeing my latest layout and my wee tutorial about how I put it all together!  I am quite enjoying sharing my creative process with you – if you have anything you would like to know about – drop me a comment and I can see what I can pull together.

Til next time

Michelle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “This is awesome

I love getting your comments..

