Stuck Sketches

Hi everyone,

I was looking around for a sketch the other day and came across the latest Stuck Sketch and yep the rest is history.

Here is the sketch:

may 15 2014and my take:

2014 05 27_4149_edited-1I have created this layout using my May Crazy Monday kit which I have just loved the colours in it.  So pretty!!  The photos are from the last weekend of the school holidays – duck feeding at Hamurana Springs (just out of Rotorua) which is a gorgeous little place next to the golf course where there is a bridge to feed the ducks. It is a bit of family tradition to go there on the way home from the Rotorua Marathon and I have blogged about it before.  The last time Taylor was there she was a little 8 month old cutie so not quite old enough to actually feed the ducks.  This time all three kids got totally stuck in and the ducks were HUNGRY.  Luckily I had bought LOADS of bread so we had lots to give them.

I thought I would do a little tutorial on how I created my background and the thought process for my layout.  I haven’t quite got the whole video thing sorted yet so it will just have to be photos.

Right who here remembers Twinkling H2Os.  Well I was thinking the other day about how they would make a gorgeous water coloured background. I used three colours.  A yellow, a green and a brown to mimic the colours in my photos and the greenery and trees and such like.1913 03 16_4054_edited-1 I used my water brush but I was lazy lol and just added water to a small piece of packaging and added the twinkling H20s to the middle of my white cardstock.  Love the pretty washed out look.   Just add water and colour until you are happy with the overall look!1970 02 03_4053_edited-1 Now I wanted to add another layer to my background and create a bit of texture but also to soften the edges of my water coloured background1970 02 03_4057_edited-1 Then it was onto the sketch.   The funny thing with backgrounds is sometimes you end up covering up most of it when placing things on top of it!  As you can see I kinda covered up most of the green.  But I did add a green element transparency embellishment to the bottom of the photos which kinda mimics what I have done!1970 02 03_4061_edited-1I really liked the Maggie Holmes frame with the hearts but didn’t want to use the whole frame as you lost too much of my patterned paper so I cut the corner piece off and added it under my photo.
1970 02 03_4059_edited-1Next, I was super happy when I cleaned my scrap room I found my favourite yellow washi so added a piece of that to the top of the layout to act as an anchor for some Heidi Swapp words 
1970 02 03_4063_edited-1 I’m all about balance so next I added a piece to the bottom right of my page too!1970 03 18_4064_edited-1 Here you can see I have added the Heidi Swapp words, my title (there are SOOOO many letters in that letter pack included in the May Kit – had to tip them all out to see the letters I wanted.   The words ‘times’ and ‘the best’ came from a Snap mini alpha set.  1975 09 08_4067_edited-1 Lastly, to cover the ‘edge’ of the Maggie Holmes frame I added some flowers from the kit and a Butterfly from the Basic Grey Ephemera.  2014 05 27_4145_edited-1 Mimicked that at the top and added another heart to the top embellishment cluster and under the Crate Paper flower (not from the kit).2014 05 27_4147_edited-1Lastly, added my journaling and the layout was done!

Hope you have enjoyed reading about how I created my background and the design of my layout.  I bet you have some twinkling H20s or similar product hidden in your stash too.   Why don’t you have a go at creating a water coloured background too!  Let me know if you do would love to see it.

Michelle xx

 

5 thoughts on “Stuck Sketches

  1. This is gorgeous, I loved reading your tutorial, I have never worked with H2o’s so I found it very inspiring! Thanks for linking up this beauty at Stuck?!

  2. Love what you’ve done with the background and such a nice color combo. Very nice with your layered embellishing. Thanks for sharing with us at Stuck?!

  3. Absolutely love your step by step. The page itself is simply amazing! Thanks for sharing it with us at Stuck?!

  4. Beautiful layout! love the watercolor effect and the masking with the modling paste. Such sweet photos. Thank you for playing with us at Stuck?!.

I love getting your comments..

