2011 Take 1

It was a quiet start to 2011 for our family.  We have been out and about and just chilling around the house.  What I do love about this time of the year is that Auckland is really nice and quiet as everyone has headed out on their holidays.  The roads are quieter, Pak n Save is quieter and the weather is generally pretty good. 

So resolutions — do I just reiterate the standard ones, you know eat healthier, exercise more, spend less as of course I do probably need to do more  of all of that.  But probably, I know that they are all just too difficult to measure and to keep myself focussed on them for the whole year.  All, I know is that 2011 is going to have a different focus for me than the last few years that we have spent thinking about or trying to expand our family.  This year we get to enjoy our new little family member instead which is kinda weird really. 

So this year, my resolutions are to eat better, exercise more and spend less!!  

No seriously, exercise is pretty high on the agenda at the moment (thanks Taylor Grace) and right now there is a skipping rope sitting next to me on the couch which I am procrastinating picking up by writing this blog post!! 

Along with exercise comes the balance of eating better, no longer have we got the excuse of being able to eat all the icecream I could possibly want.  So far I have been trying to change habits of a lifetime and doing pretty well at cutting out a lot of the sweet stuff. 

Then spending less… well that is probably the hardest for me.. who likes to whip out the credit card at any opportunity and an opportunist I certainly am.  But there are things I want, quite a bit, which will require more discipline.  Like buying or perhaps even BUILDING a new house.  Might have to move to the hibiscus coast though… to afford that (but hey that wouldn’t be too bad would it girls).

So, I got side tracked and read Hannah’s blog which had the following questions on it so I thought that looked like fun to play along with !!

Did anyone close to you give birth?
oh me me me !  That is pretty close!  No one else that I know really closely but I did met some lovely new friends in my antenatal class that have all got babies.   

Did anyone close to you die?
No.

What countries did you visit?
None!  This is a world record for me who has only had two years in the last 13 where I haven’t been overseas.  2004 and 2010.  Incidentally both of these years where years in which I also gave birth.

What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
Can’t think of anything really, more alcohol? 

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Def giving birth (even if it was out the sun roof!!)

What was your biggest failure?
None, I honestly don’t feel like I failed at anything.  Okay maybe breastfeeding but that was more of a supply issue.

What was the best thing you bought?
My Iphone 4 {heart} 

Where did most of your money go?
Combined money went to the Mortgage and to baby things and I spent far to much $$$ on scrapping supplies

What did you get really excited about?
I would say having a baby but I don’t think I was truly excited more scared. 

Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder?
Definitely happier.

Thinner or fatter?
Definitely fatter – too much icecream.

Richer or poorer?
Richer – as in family and life in general. 

What do you wish you’d done more of?
Leaving those Giant Jaffas in the bag instead of eating them all. 

What do you wish you’d done less of?
Eating Giant Jaffas. 

How did you spend Christmas?
At home with the family that are here in NZ.

Did you fall in love in 2010?
Yes, can I say with my baby girl… .

What was your favorite TV program?
Glee, Greys Anatomy,  Project Runway, MasterChef and various other reality TV shows

What was the best book you read?
Um Eclipse

What did you want and get?
an Iphone 4 and baby

What did you want and not get?
A new house.

What were your favorite films of this year?
Step Up 3.

What did you do on your birthday?
I can’t remember – preggy brain.  I think I was at work and it was a Friday.  Oh now I remember we went to Spaghettis restaurant.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?
Ha ha… JeansWest skinny preggo jeans and preggo tops from Kmart.

What kept you sane?
My hubby most of the time, sometimes he made me more insane (kidding!)

Who did you miss?
Sisters in Australia – who are both going to be Mummies soon too.

Who was the best new person you met?
Hmmmm, I can’t think of anyone!  I am enjoying hanging out more with my scrapping buddies Hannah and Annelie more often now they are both working in Albany!!

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010:
When you least expect it, it will happen.

Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
When I see your face
There’s not a thing that I would change
Cause you’re amazing
Just the way you are
And when you smile,
The whole world stops and stares for awhile
Cause girl you’re amazing
Just the way you are
Bruno Mars

2 thoughts on “2011 Take 1

  1. Well, I certainly wouldn’t complain if you guys moved up here! But sadly houses are not exactly cheap here either … where is one of those darn money trees when you need it, huh?! ;-)

    Happy New Year!! xx

I love getting your comments..

